More about Jane Eyre

                                                                  More about Jane Eyre

It took me about an hour to finish Jane Eyre last night. It is a very good book. For me, I will give it a 4-star rating (out of 5). If I were a woman, I may have given it 5 stars, because I think this story really fits women’s taste – A poor girl grew up without any parents, and no relatives, and found her love but she had to leave it, but in the end she was not only got her love and found her relatives, she also became rich. It is really a happy ending, and it is really a kind of “dream come true” story.  I see it more like a fairy tale.

The reason that I like this book is that the author really sets the mood for the story.  At least for me, when I read along, I can feel what character feels in the story, especially those descriptions about the feelings, they really move me.  The part about Rochester tells what he feels like a dream when he meets Jane is a very good example.  I do not know how the author can writes so well, it has been my question for a long time to those good writers, I guess either they have the life experience or they have more imaginations than others.

What I don’t like this story is the plot. I feel it is too fabricated. Jane can become rich, but suddenly she has everything she never dreamed about is more like a fairy tale. I can see this is a girls’ story.

The other thing I did last night was to find the movie of Jane Eyre to watch. Surprisingly, there are so many versions of it. The one I mentioned is 1970’s version, starring George Scott and Susannah York, it has been a classic back in China, and it really brings back memories. I still remember the parts of that the hair cutting and standing on the chair. I remember what I watched it I did not know why the girl is crying when her hair got cut, is it a big deal? The 1970’s version is the best one among other versions according to people’s review. I haven’t seen other versions, so I cannot say if it is the best one, but comparing to the book, the book is a lot better than the movie. Even thought the main theme is there, too many details are missed. But I like the ending part, it changes the place two characters meet from a room to outside, and the dialogue has been changed too from the book, I like it better than the one in the book.

One last thing, I really like the music of the movie.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment